A HA environment with UMS 5.08.120 or newer, with 2 servers and 2 load balancers.
When a user creates a new file object on Server A, it is automatically synchronized with Server B every 30 minutes.
But this synchronization is only a synchronization of the file system. It does not refresh the view in any UMS console other than the one in which the file was created.
Files that are not created as file objects in UMS, but are only stored in the file system in
ums_filetransfer, are NOT synchronized.
Note that Universal Firmware Updates are NOT synchronized. You have to either download them to all HA nodes or configure an external (FTP) server used as an update source.
To avoid problems with your HA installation, make sure that the time on the servers of the HA network does not differ by more than one minute. After each manual time reset, the HA services on the relevant server must be restarted.
- The system consists of server A (
v-j-mv-umstest1) and server B (
- The user creates a file object called
bootsplash.jpgon server A, that is,
- After the file object has been created on server A (
v-j-mv-umstest1), the file
bootsplash.jpgis present on the file system.
- Before synchronization, the new file is not present on the file system of server B (
- After file synchronization, the file is present on the file system of server B (
v-j-mv-umstest3), but the file object is not visible yet on the UMS console connected to server B.
- After pressing [F5] or selecting the refresh button, the UMS console connected to server B (
v-j-mv-umstest3), shows the file object.
On server A (
v-j-mv-umstest1), on which the file object was created by the user, the following new entry is added to the log file
2018-07-12 16:30:00,184 INFO[Thread-888] UMSEprSynchronizeWebDavServiceImpl: File was successfully downloaded.
This is the URL from which server B attempts to download this file to its own file path.
If the download does not work, an error message is added. Possible causes, for instance: The file is currently in use and cannot be accessed, or the user has manually deleted the file in the file system.
A separate log entry is created for each file.